Organization · Uncategorized

Planner Storage Organisation 101

When you accumulate lots of stationery, you find yourself searching for good storage ideas to keep everything organised and in place.  I found that i would spend hours searching on google and pinterest trying to find easy ways to store all my stationery and planner supplies. However sometimes i was trying to find storage ideas for things that i have brought to store things. It was a huge mess and big cycle. It took me a while, but finally i have found amazing storage ideas that work for me, so today i thought i would share them with you! I also have some ideas that i haven’t yet tried but am hoping to in the future. So lets get right to it!

Cute boxes

Boxes are a great way to organise your stationery crafting supply’s. I have quite a few now that house my sticky notes, list pads and stamps. I also use a box to hold all my bits and bobs that do not have homes yet. You can buy cute boxes from a wide range of place’s. However i have found cute ones from Tiger,Tesco and Wilko.

box
Box is from Tiger
box
Box is from TESCO

Set of drawers

I have found drawers really useful when organising my planning supplies. If you have seen my desk tour on YouTube then you will have seen the two sets of draws i have. I currently use a 3 draw bedside table that holds all my inserts in one draw. My scrap craft paper in another and my paper packs in the bottom draw. When i was looking for another set of draws i found that bedside tables were really expensive. I had a look around and i found some plastic drawers from Argos. I wanted something that could hold all my little random stuff so it didn’t have to be big or sturdy. I brought the drawers from Argos and they worked perfectly. They are tall and thin which is perfect for fitting in small places. It also has wheels so if you move things around a lot like me its easy!

Drawers

Handbag organiser 

Handbag organisers are a great way to organise your supplies and keep together your most used items. If you have been following my blog for a while you would have read my blog post all about my handbag organiser. I loved using it because it was so easy to pick it up and carry it to wherever i wanted to plan because of the handles. It also had lots of pockets which was amazing to organise my supplies in there. To read my blog post all about my handbag organiser click HERE.

handbag organiser

Make up bags

Make up bags are a good way to keep themed things together. I currently use a large makeup travel case from Boots to hold all my Christmas themed supplies. I have put everything in there that is about Christmas so i know where it all is when i come to plan next Christmas. This means that i will not miss place or loose things during the year. There are many other used for make up bags such as using them as a pencil case or using them to hold different planning supplies. Make up bags can be used for anything really. It totally depends on how you want to use them.

make up box
Boots Make up Travel Case
Owl Pencil case
Primark Make up Bag

Plastic tubs

Plastic tubs are a great way to store random little bits that you have scatted around. I currently use a little blue tub that hold all my journaling  cards and ephemera/die cuts. You can use plastic tubs to hold little charms,paperclips or pens. It is totally up to you.

pot

Mini desk drawers

Mini desk drawers are a great way to keep your desk top organised. I brought some from Poundland last year and i just love them! You can use them so for many different things. I currently have one on my desk at the moment holding my paperclips and magnetic turtles for my whiteboard haha!

poundland draw

Passport Pouches

When i first stated planning, the main thing i used to organise and hold my planning supplies were cheap passport pouches from Ebay. They were perfect to just throw in your bag when you were going out and about and had lots of different pockets and zips to hold different things. I actually have a blog post on my passport pouch so to read that click HERE.

Travel pouch front
Travel pouch front
travel pouch back
Back of the planner pouch
inside empty
Inside the empty planner pouch.

Wash bags

Wash bags are a great thing to use to keep your planning supply’s organised when you travel or move from room to room to plan. I have used a few wash bags in the last year and i love how some of them even fit your planner in a pocket which is separate from the rest of your supply’s.  Most wash bags have many different pockets in them which i think is amazing to organise your supply’s when you go on a trip or just to keep your supply’s ion if you normally move room to room to plan and you just want something that you can zip away and carry around the house.

make up baginsdie makeup bagcarry case outsidecarry case inside

Trolleys

I don’t currently use this method to organise my things, however i have seen many people use a trolley like system and i love it. The most popular trolley that people use to organise their supply’s is the RASKOG from IKEA. I have seen so many pictures of how people use them and i just lust over them. Trolleys may be a good idea if you have your own craft room that you may need to roll your trolley around the room to your desk of you keep it in one area of your house and your roll it to an area to plan. Either way i think this is an amazing idea if you can afford one!

Raskog

Tool box

Tool boxes are another good way of organising your planning supplies. Many people that i have spoken to use tool boxes to organise their washi tape or sticky notes. I tried out this method and it didn’t work for me because i found that i had to find somewhere to store the tool box. However i know it does work for many other people. The thing about trying to find organisation methods, is everyone is different and what may work for you may not work to someone else.

tool boxx

Folders (a4,a5,expandable)

Since starting planning, i have always found binders and exapandable folders really useful. When i fist started out i used cheque size expandable files from wilko to organise my stickers. However i now store my stickers in a5 binders in plastic wallets.  Binders and folders can be used to organise many different things, its totally up to how you want to use them .

Expanding file outside
Wilkinsons expandable file £1.25
Expanding file
Wilkinsons Expandable file
hhh
A5 Display Folder from Amazon

Over the door organisers

I do not currently use this method to organise my things, however i have seen many people do and it looks amazing! If you are stuck for floor space then a over the door organiser may be the answer to all of your organisation questions. While searching though Instagram i have seen many people use over the door organisers to store their supplies. However, i have also seen people attach them to walls next to their desk which i think is a really good idea. Over the door organisers can come in many different styles so finding on to suite you may be easier then you thought.

over the door organiser

And Finally….

A Pencil case

This is a bit of an obvious one, however pencil cases can be used to not only store your pens and pencils but it can also be used to keep washi tape in and other things depending on the size.

 

I hope this post has helped some of you guys in giving you ideas on how to organise your things. I would love to hear how you guys organise and if you have any other ideas or examples please comment below.

I hope you have a lovely week,

Zoe oxox

Leave a Reply

